The first part of the concert will introduce a composition of a leading western composer Helmut Lachenmann «„┘Zwei Gefühle┘“. Music with Leonardo», and two pioneering scores of the 20th century will be performed in the second — Three Village Scenes by Béla Bartók and Les Noces (The Wedding) by Igor Stravinsky.

Lachenmann's «┘Zwei Gefühle┘» is an orchestral piece based on phylosophical fragment by Leonardo da Vinci (that's the source of the subtitle “Music with Leonardo”). Two readers, reciting Leonardo's text, present two complementary parts of conscience of a traveler, who stops at the entrance to the cave, gripped with fear and curiosity, as Lachenmann says. The composer splits the text into smallest parts in order to penetrate the mysteries of nature's language, as Leonardo did that.

Two choruses will be united in the concert in performing the compositions by Bartók and Stravinsky — the New Siberian Singers of the Novosibirsk State Academic Opera and Ballet Theatre and Dmitry Pokrovsky Folklore Ensemble. As a result, two opposite ways of performing will interact — academic and folklore one. For the first time in the history of Stravinsky's Les Noces, the original Stravinsky's version which is meant for classical performers and the original stage version by Dmitry Pokrovsky Ensemble will unite on stage.

Program and performers:

Helmut Lachenmann. «┘Zwei Gefühle┘» Music with Leonardo
Boris Filanovsky and Natalya Pschenitschnikova (recitation)
Chamber orchestra of the Novosibirsk Opera and Ballet Theatre Musica Aeterna Ensemble
Conductor — Pyotr Belyakin
Béla Bartók. Three Village Scenes
Igor Stravinsky. Les Noces (The Wedding)
Chamber orchestra of the Novosibirsk Opera and Ballet Theatre Musica Aeterna Ensemble
Dmitry Pokrovsky Ensemble
Chamber choir of the Novosibirsk Opera and Ballet Theatre the New Siberian Singers
Choirmaster — Vyacheslav Podjelsky
Conductor — Teodor Currentzis