Welkom in België!
Bienvenue en Belgique!
Willkommen in Belgien!

The central concept for his new performance, Jan Fabre, as he says, took out of Luke van den Dries from Antwerp University thesis: «The truth is that Belgium doesn`t exist. Belgium is a surreal nightmare». The premiere from the most famous Belgian creator took place on 18th of July 2017 during the largest international festival of contemporary dance and performance Impulstanz in Wien – and became a sensation. A bit later, this performance began a tour, and among the main European festivals they participate in is «Territory». 

Jan Fabre pays homage to his motherland. Just as Fellini made his Roma, Fabre wants to celebrate his complex, crazy country. He uses the language best suited to grasp the spirit of this slippery state: that of theatre, that of the image. An international cast of performers and musicians searches for the Belgian identity and translates it into a travelling dance and theatre performance. Singer-songwriter Raymond van het Groenewoud provides the anthems; author Johan de Boose writes the text.

The performance goes on the fifth languages with the Russian subtitlings
Duration – 3:55

Age limit 18+

The Theare of Nations / main stage
Петровский пер., 3

Photos © Wonge Bergmann
portrait Jan Fabre by Stephan Vanfleteren


  • Concept and direction — Jan Fabre
  • Text — Johan de Boose
  • Music — Raymond van het Groenewoud and Andrew Van Ostade
  • Dramaturgy — Miet Martens
  • Assistance dramaturgy — Edith Cassiers
  • Costume design — Kasia Mielczarek and Jonne Sikkema
  • Intern assistant director — Nina Certyn
  • Intern P.U.L.S. (Project for Upcoming artists on the Large Stage) — Timeau De Keyser
  • Intern costume design — Monika Nyckowska
  • Technical management — André Schneider
  • Production management — Sebastiaan Peeters
  • Stage technique — Wout Janssens
  • (Inter)national sales — Sophie Vanden Broeck
  • Business coordinator — Joost Claes
  • Press and communication: — Edith Cassiers
  • Company management — Mark Geurden
  • Production — Troubleyn/Jan Fabre (BE)
  • Co-production — ImpulsTanz Vienna International Dance Festival (AT), Napoli Teatro Festival (IT), Théâtre de Liège (BE), Concertgebouw Brugge (BE)


  • Annabelle Chambon
  • Cédric Charron
  • Tabitha Cholet
  • Anny Czupper
  • Conor Thomas Doherty
  • Stella Höttler
  • Ivana Jozic
  • Gustav Koenigs
  • Mariateresa Notarangelo
  • Çigdem Polat
  • Annabel Reid
  • Merel Severs
  • Ursel Tilk
  • Kasper Vandenberghe
  • Andrew James Van Ostade